July… wow!

Posted: 07::01::10 in Uncategorized

I can’t believe it is July already. It seems like just yesterday it was February and we were digging ourselves out of 2 feet of snow.

Well, I thought that I should write in this thing considering I created it not too long ago and have yet to write. Oh procrastination, How I love thee! 😉

I have to admit, I was thinking about my grandpa last night and when he prays. I think one thing I love is how when he prays he uses words like thee and thou or what-not. My grandpa has a very soothing voice, at least to me he does. He also has a great singing voice too. I love listening to him talk and sing, it gives me a peaceful feeling.

I just recently started reading “The Screwtape Letters” by C.S. Lewis. I must admit that at first I wasn’t quite getting it but then it became more and more clear. I’m still not sure what to think about it. I mean it just seems strange to read these letters written by Screwtape, who is a demon and he is writing them to his nephew, a junior tempter. It’s all so bizarre but it a weird way it might be a good thing to read. At least I can see how Satan can use even the small things to tempt us Christians and fall away from God. At the same time though its making me wonder, do demons and the evil ones have that much power? I mean even in the book it makes a comment along the lines of  listening to their thoughts or something along those lines but it was to my understanding that Satan doesn’t have that kind of power. I mean I think maybe he could hear us when we speak out loud but I didn’t think he was omniscient. I guess I feel like we give the enemy too much credit and maybe that’s how I’m feeling with this book too. At the same time I wonder if that is a weakness? I mean what if we were to doubt or undermine the power that Satan has, I wonder if that can be used against us in some way, therefore being a weakness. We are supposed to be ready and on guard after all…

Comments
  1. Caitlynn says:

    Hmm…well, I’m not sure about the whole can-demons-hear-thoughts question, but even if they can’t, they could just be exceptionally good at reading our actions. Sometimes, as people, we put too much emphasis on knowing / not knowing what somebody else is thinking, and leave it at that. But usually, if we stop and observe a given person long enough, we come to understand what they’re probably feeling based on how they’re acting in relation to our knowledge of their past actions. So, maybe, demons are just really good at doing that? Make any sense?

    Well, but like I said, I really don’t know. 😛 I do like The Screwtape Letters, though. It’s such an interesting perspective to read from, so it intrigues me.

Leave a Reply

