Why I write…

Posted: 07::22::10 in Uncategorized

My friend Joanne had written in her blog at one of her blogging buddies request about why she writes. I loved her story and I thought it sounded like fun so I’m going to write mine too! 🙂

Why I write

I don’t exactly remember when I first realized I loved to write. I can remember when I was a young girl constantly keeping a journal or diary. I can remember having the need to write, not necessarily wanting to write but just feeling like I had this itch this feeling… that I wanted to grab a pencil and start jotting things down. I used to write stories when I was little but mostly I wrote in my diary, even if it was simply “I’m sick today. I didn’t go to school.” and then about a week later I would once again write, “I’m sick today… again.”.

When I write I get this contented feeling. It’s not that it makes me happy but I suppose it makes me content. I think that is one of the most wonderful feelings in the world, to just be content. When I was about fourteen years old was when 9/11 had occurred. That was about the time when I started dabbling in Poetry. I remember one of my first poems was about 9/11. I soon realized that Poetry was an outlet for me. I could rhyme and mess around with the words but it helped me to explain how I felt or what I was thinking in an artistic sort of way. I continued to write in my diaries of course but then I started to write poetry more often.

It wasn’t until I found Faithwriters through a friend who found out about it through her sister when I started to experiment more with stories. I had continued to grow and get better in writing and it made me even more content. Eventually, I had found Christ. I think God had used a lot of things to draw me to Him and realize that I was not yet His. However, because of the anger and hurt I held in my heart years prior and using my poetry writing as an outlet, I do believe God used my writing more than anything else.

After I was saved one of the first things I did was write a poem about my experience. I write because I love it, because it’s a great way to get out my frustrations, and I do it, most of all, for my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ!

Phew! That took a lot but I really had to think about it and I hope what I wrote was sufficient. 🙂

Comments
  1. Joanne Sher says:

    I LOVE the way God brought you to Him through your writing (among other things). Very cool. Enjoyed reading this a LOT, Becky!

  2. Ahh, this was lovely! It makes me start thinking of my own story! Thanks for sharing it! ^_^

Leave a Reply

